top-right

Dog Owners Reviews of Dog Training Philadelphia - Donald Cohen

Don Cohen is a very personable trainer, who makes himself available via phone or email. He has been very flexible, meeting our schedule needs for Ubu's training. He has been well received by Ubu. Most importantly, Ubu is responding well to the training in just a few short weeks. He has a way to go still, but is mellowing quickly and responding well to his new commands. He has adjusted well to the new training collar on his walks. It doesn't require a lot of time to practice what Don has taught us. We are extremely pleased that our Vet referred us to Don. Looking forward to working on other behavioral issues with Don. I highly recommend Don.
Robert E., Newtown Square, Pennsylvania 16th March 2016


Donald was extremely helpful with training for my dog Pelham. He had previously worked with us when I had relocated back to the Philadelphia area in June, however I recently relocated to a new apartment in the city and wanted a refresher on our training. Donald was very accommodating with scheduling and was able to set up a time quickly. The biggest issue I have with my dog is his aggressive barking when visitors enter my apartment, as well as barking at noises in the hallway. Donald worked with us on these issues as well as leash walking. Pelham was very responsive to the training and I immediately noticed positive improvements. Donald also sent a timely follow up email reviewing the key points of what we had gone over and what items to practice which was very helpful. I would definitely recommend his training services!!
Katie F., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 7th March 2016


We have seen great results thanks to Donald from Barkbusters on our rescue, Hopper. Donald has been patient with us and Hopper as we work on his aggression, barking, and walking issues. From the first session where the entire process was thoroughly explained to the multiple follow up visits and emails Donald has been great to work with at every step. We were given a lot of useful information that has really made a difference in Hopper's behavior. We are very happy with Hopper's progress!
Timothy M., Lansdale, Pennsylvania 6th March 2016


Donald met with us for close to 3 hours on our first session. He listened to our concerns about our dog Zoe, a Snorkie. He then explained how the program works and he described how the corrections worked as well as the order of use. Within a few days we noticed a big change in Zoe . She was responding to our corrections, perhaps not 100% but often enough to know the training and corrections were working. Donald is extremely supportive, always available by phone or email. Although we anticipated a need for several visits, we quickly realized a few sessions along telephone contact Donald, was enough to handle several issues. We are very happy with the success we are having. Donald's support is the key to our progress. Barkbusters is a program anyone could use and find success.
Diane Z., King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 29th February 2016


Our rescue, Daisy, is a sweet, good natured pooch with a few naughty behaviors. We had zero experience in dog training and needed some help. The Bark Busters trainer called quickly to discuss our concerns and gave us some guidance for coping. The first visit was very thorough. Donald gave us information on diet, toys and training. We saw results almost immediately and continue to see improvements.
Megan C., Lansdale, Pennsylvania 5th February 2016


Donald is a very patient and knowledgable trainer. He takes his time and explains everything thoroughly. He ia always available for phone calls and visits if needed. He really helped me with Jackie Bown's aggression(fear based) with other dogs. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
Sheryl B., phila, Pennsylvania 17th October 2015


I had an amazing experience with Bark Busters! I have a golden retriever puppy George who is just about 5 months now. He has never chewed anything in the house besides his toys and he does not jump up to greet people when entering the house. Donald taught us how to effectively communicate with George in just a few weeks. I would absolutely recommend his service!
Colleen M., Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania 3rd October 2015


Don was very helpful with our dog Pelham. He is a very energetic 1 1/2 year old German Shepherd Mix. He had several traumatic events happen within his first year (we rescued him at 10 weeks, he was hit by a car requiring surgery and then got Parvovirus...poor baby!!!) We recently relocated into a new house with my parents, and Pelham was demonstrating increased aggressive behaviors both with visitors and with my parents (barking, growling). Since our training with Don, Pelham's behavior has improved dramatically! He calms much quicker when visitors enter the house, and no longer demonstrating any aggressive behaviors with parents. His leash walking has also improved. Very satisfied with the results of training!
Katherine F., Newtown Square, Pennsylvania 21st August 2015


When we first contacted Donald to train our dog, we were desperate for help. I have a 1.5 year old Boston Terrier with an endless supply of energy and a constant need for attention. A steady decline in obedience and a rise in aggression had us worried that we would never be able to do the things wanted to do with our dog - walks, play dates, dog parks, family parties with children, etc. From the first visit, Donald's calm demeanor and extensive knowledge made us feel confident that we could turn our situation around. He educated us and gave us the tools we needed to effectively train our dog. The realization that dog training starts with the owner knowing the proper way to correct behavior has made a huge difference. Although this will be a long road ahead, we've had very noticeable improvement in just a couple weeks time. With a little bit of practice, leash walking, attentiveness, and hyperactivity are improving every day! Donald continues to reach out to us and make himself available between his visits. Its a great feeling knowing that he's always available for advice when we need him. I have tried several different training courses and methodologies, and Bark Busters with Donald has by far been the most effective in helping my dog become a little gentleman!
Chad P., Springfield, Pennsylvania 11th June 2015


We had issues with Chewy chewing and pulling. Donald came over to our house and explained patiently on how to address the issues. He also provided some free goodies like a collar, a spray bottle, and more! Our puppy is behaving a lot better after receiving help from Donald. Highly recommend him to anyone who have similar puppy issues!
Ming C., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 28th May 2015


I was amazed at how quickly my dogs responded to Bark Buster's training techniques. Donald gave us clear goals and homework and we were able to easily work with our dogs to correct their issues. I have tried several other trainers, classes, and methods before and this is the first method to really work for us.
Margaret M., Wynnewood, Pennsylvania 6th May 2015


Working with Donald has been great. The visits and phone support is extremely helpful. Our rescue, Bailey (beagle/boxer mix), is responding well to the training slowly but surely.
Patrick C., Springfield, Pennsylvania 27th February 2015


Don came to our home to help with Holly, our 1 year old Hound/Jack Russell terrier mix. She was having some issues greeting guests and demanding attention; Holly is a very high energy pup and Don was patient with her, as well as with us. Don taught us techniques and a system that Holly responded to almost immediately, although as owners we still need to do "our homework" a little more consistently. Holly has really improved and jumping up on guests/family members is at a minimum. We have seen positive results and I know if we continue to work with Holly using the Bark Buster methods we will have a very well behaved pup. Don also opened up our eyes regarding the quality of food we were giving Holly. This was really important information for us to have as owners. Of course, we want to give our pup healthy nutritious food and we made sure to take care of that immediately...I have passed this knowledge on to many people already. Don suggested puzzle toys and treats that keep Holly busy and it is true that a tired pup is a good pup at the end of the day. We also use these strategies to distract Holly when we have guests over. These methods have worked for us, thanks to Don! We would recommend Don to other dog owners who need some help with training their canine kiddies.
Nicole M., havertown, Pennsylvania 26th February 2015


We had no idea how to begin training our puppy, Roo (3 month old, chihuahua) and after some research decided to give Donald a call. He was very accommodating with scheduling appointments as we were only able to do evenings and weekends. He was very good at explaining the best way to communicate with our puppy and really individualized the training program for, Roo. We are very grateful for Donald's help in teaching us how to be the "pack leader."
Marisa F., Ardmore, Pennsylvania 21st January 2015


We rescued a beautiful two year old boxer in June of this year. In general he seemed to fit in well with our family, but was disobedient, stubborn and at times showed some signs of aggression. We called our veterinarian who recommended Bark Busters. We were a little overwhelmed after our first visit because Don asked us to change our everyday behavior with Noah. He also recommended changing Noah's food. It took some practice, for both us and Noah, but Don's advice and teaching has paid off with a more obedient and content dog. Changing his diet truly made him much less hyper and easier to be around.
Lisa S., Havertown, Pennsylvania 16th January 2015


We couldn't be happier with the services provided by our trainer, Donald Cohen. He really took the time to listen to our concerns and goals and was able to address everything. He spent almost three hours during our initial visit teaching us techniques and providing rationale for each aspect of the training. Our dogs responded really well to him and have been responding well to us as we continue to use the methods that we were taught. Donald was very thorough in follow-up, emailing us afterwards with a complete lesson review, and calling us a few days later to check in and answer any questions we had. We are very pleased and look forward to continue working with BarkBusters.
Ashley W., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 13th January 2015


Donald has been very helpful in suggesting strategies and techniques to help us work with Moe. We rescued Moe (pitbull mix with basset hound) and he is very aggressive towards other dogs and has a lot of attention issues. So far, we have made some progress in the right direction and I look forward to more sessions with Donald.
Kris B., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 6th December 2014


Donald met with us for the first time two days ago and we are already seeing positive results. The exercises work well and our dog is already responding and we can begin to see bad habits fading. We know that we have to keep working with our dog but it is really great to see the techniques working already!
Geoff L., Havertown, Pennsylvania 10th November 2014


We got our first puppy in late January. Needless to say we were a little overwhelmed. The amount of information online about training a puppy is endless. We needed someone to sit down, explain things, show us what works and what doesn't. Donald was fantastic. He has come to our house at least 3 times and we have talked on the phone countless other times. He is always just a phone call away. I don't where we'd be without Donald. Thanks.
Fran F., Havertown, Pennsylvania 8th October 2014


We met with Donald and were very happy with our first visit. Bark Busters trains in your home and Donald worked with us and listened to our needs to help our Labs thrive. We were left with homework and already see a difference. I would recommend
Amy C., Radnor, Pennsylvania 14th September 2014




Go to top