top-right

Dog Owners Reviews of Dog Training Philadelphia - Donald Cohen

We place a very high value on customer feedback to ensure we stay in tune with our clients needs and expectations and continue to deliver excellent results and customer service. Every customer is given a feedback form which may be returned freepost to our Head Office. The feedback is logged, and where client permission has been given, the testimonials from those feedback forms are published below.

I really enjoyed my training sessions with Donald. He helped me learn a lot of new strategies to help with my dogs fear of other dogs and her aggression because of that. He has provided us with useful tools to help Rosie keep going forward and continue to help her improve. Donald was patient and showed me continuously how to correctly train my dog. I enjoyed working with Donald as he was kind and knowledgable.
Caitlin S., Devon, Pennsylvania 26th August 2017


The Bark Buster Training methods have been extremely helpful. We have learned how to better communicate with our dog in ways he understands. We love that Bark Busters employs a hands-off approach, non-physical approach which has strengthened our bond with Speedy and created an atmosphere of strong trust. The daily practice exercises have been extremely valuable and have helped do away with nuisance behaviors like barking for attention and jumping up on guests. We have seen a HUGE improvement in our dogs behavior after just one lesson and look forward to continuing the Bark Busters program.
Ryan W., Ardmore, PA, Pennsylvania 26th June 2017


Both my son and I are thrilled with Bark Busters' training techniques and progress made in training our new puppy ,Jessie to become a more considerate and responsive member of our family. Jessie is a lovable and loving dog, but like most puppies, super-energetic and adventurous, chewing on everything she could find and "jawing" on us. After our first lesson with Donald, Jessie's "biting" us stopped almost entirely and within 2 weeks disappeared, relegated now to chewing on her dog toys. Also, she became more obedient and calmer when friends are visiting. The training without food bribery or restraints is humane and kinder to both our lovable Siberian Husky family member and us. Thank you, Donald. We continue to work with Jessie on her "walking manners" and she has become a pleasure to take for walks, more controllable and "mannerly" when meeting other dogs.
Fredrica F., Haverford, Pennsylvania 10th April 2017


Donald has been a great trainer for my 5 month old golden retriever/great pyrenees mix. In just a few lessons I am already starting to notice significant progress through Donald's help and reinforcing his lessons. I have really learned a lot from Donald and he has done a fantastic job helping my training with Leo.
Andrew S., Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania 1st March 2017


We are so happy with Donald! We saw a difference in our dog right away, he taught us how to speak to her correctly to calm her anxiety. She's very calm and well behaved! I highly recommend!
Shaina B., Havertown, Pennsylvania 23rd February 2017


Our main concern was that Izzie had developed aggression toward other dogs during our daily walks . Donald talked to us about the many factor of training that we should do in order to lead up to Izzie not being concerned with outer influences and keep her attention on us. We worked on leash walking especially and Donald even brought a life-like dog to one of the sessions which demonstrated to Donald her action when she encounters another dog. We are so pleased with the improvement and it is a work in progress. We look forwad to our daily walks now.
Norma N., Broomall, Pennsylvania 29th January 2017
Trainer's Comments
This was a duplicate


Our main concern was that Izzie had developed aggression toward other dogs during our daily walks . Donald talked to us about the many factor of training that we should do in order to lead up to Izzie not being concerned with outer influences and keep her attention on us. We worked on leash walking especially and Donald even brought a life-like dog to one of the sessions which demonstrated to Donald her action when she encounters another dog. We are so pleased with the improvement and it is a work in progress. We look forward to our daily walks now.
Norma N., Broomall, Pennsylvania 29th January 2017


I called Bark Busters because my 2 year old labradoodle started to be aggressive towards puppies at the dog park. This was very new and worrisome behavior that we wanted to correct as quickly as possible. The entry quiz shined light on some other issues that hadn't necessarily bothered us, but could definitely use correcting. After our first session with Donald, our dog wasn't jumping up on people when they entered our home. He is now pulling less on the leash, much calmer when we have visitors, and has stopped exhibiting aggressive behavior at the dog park. Friends and family have commented on his improved behavior, and we are very happy with our results so far.
Kelly S., Ardmore, Pennsylvania 12th January 2017


With the skills and exercises that we've learned from Bark Busters, we have been able to refocus our dog's attention on us as leaders. She respects us more now, and she is much easier controlled and more well behaved. Her anxiety is much improved. Everyone that visits our house comments on how much better she behaves!
Kelly S., Lansdale, Pennsylvania 5th October 2016


We have 2 dogs, both almost 6 years old. They've spent the majority of their lives slowly taking over the household. Now that we also have a toddler, we decided it was time to take back control where we could. Donald has been great in helping us in that journey. In our first session, he listened to the problems we face with our pups (which include jumping on the baby's highchair during meals, pulling on the leash during walks and whining incessantly until they get their way) and offered guidance, providing hands-on help and making sure we understood the techniques and implemented them properly. In addition to helping us address the problems we knew existed, Donald also taught us behaviors to look out for that indicate our dogs are actually "training" us, which has been incredibly helpful in recognizing and addressing issues we weren't aware existed. The training requires consistency, work and patience, but we have made so much progress since Donald's first visit and have much less stress when it comes to the dogs, now that we have techniques that actually work to correct their negative behavior. He checks in frequently and is genuinely interested in our success. We enjoy working with him!
Liz L., Havertown, Pennsylvania 3rd October 2016


After 3 weeks we are pleased with how Don Cohen has provided us with the proper methods to communicate with our dog Max. Max had barking aggression towards visitors to our home, we have been working on this problem and he seems to be getting better with our commands. Through Don's help Max is much better with walking on a leash.
Larry & Flo D., Springfield, Pennsylvania 8th August 2016


As first time dog owners we were overwhelmed and didn't know where to start with training our very energetic puppy. Donald is very knowledgable and it certainly helps that our puppy, Emma, really likes him (and responds to him). Donald is a great communicator and always checks in on us and our progress with Emma. Slowly but surely we can see the sweet dog that she's going to grow up to be!
Sima K., Newtown square, Pennsylvania 14th July 2016


Don helped us understand our newly adopted Pit Bull. Penny was found roaming the streets of West Philadelphia and while we have been dog lovers and owners for more than 35 years, we had no experience (good or bad) with this breed. It was comforting and reassuring to get his opinion and to gain tools to help Penny adjust to her new home.
Debra M., Havertown, Pennsylvania 8th May 2016


We contacted Bark Busters to help us with our 1-year-old rescue dog. We mainly wanted help with leash training, especially our pup's reactivity to other dogs. Donald has been very helpful and showed us many easy-to-use techniques to improve our dog's behavior both on and off the leash.
Breanne H., ardmore, Pennsylvania 18th April 2016


We contacted Bark Busters to help us with our 1-year-old rescue dog. We mainly wanted help with leash training, especially our pup's reactivity to other dogs. Donald has been very helpful and showed us many easy-to-use techniques to improve our dog's behavior both on and off the leash.
Breanne H., ardmore, Pennsylvania 18th April 2016


We got Tank when he was an 8wk old Bernese Mountain puppy. We knew that he was going to be a very large dog so we wanted to make sure that he was well behaved from an early age. I called Bark Busters because neighbors has great success with them a few years ago. We really liked the idea of Tank being in his home atmosphere while learning. It was and is very convenient, Donald is very flexible with scheduling and is always available by email or phone. Donald trained us how to train Tank and the correct way of rewarding and reprimanding him. We practiced multiple exercises while he was at the house and he gave us detailed instructions on how to practice them once he left. He always told us to reach out at any point. I have emailed Donald on multiple occasions about a specific problem and he quickly emails me back with a training video or chat on the phone on how to correct specific behaviors. Tank is still a puppy at this point but he is much better behaved and is still learning. We are very happy with the results that we have seen so far.
Cathy B., Havertown, Pennsylvania 1st April 2016


Don Cohen is a very personable trainer, who makes himself available via phone or email. He has been very flexible, meeting our schedule needs for Ubu's training. He has been well received by Ubu. Most importantly, Ubu is responding well to the training in just a few short weeks. He has a way to go still, but is mellowing quickly and responding well to his new commands. He has adjusted well to the new training collar on his walks. It doesn't require a lot of time to practice what Don has taught us. We are extremely pleased that our Vet referred us to Don. Looking forward to working on other behavioral issues with Don. I highly recommend Don.
Robert E., Newtown Square, Pennsylvania 16th March 2016


Donald was extremely helpful with training for my dog Pelham. He had previously worked with us when I had relocated back to the Philadelphia area in June, however I recently relocated to a new apartment in the city and wanted a refresher on our training. Donald was very accommodating with scheduling and was able to set up a time quickly. The biggest issue I have with my dog is his aggressive barking when visitors enter my apartment, as well as barking at noises in the hallway. Donald worked with us on these issues as well as leash walking. Pelham was very responsive to the training and I immediately noticed positive improvements. Donald also sent a timely follow up email reviewing the key points of what we had gone over and what items to practice which was very helpful. I would definitely recommend his training services!!
Katie F., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 7th March 2016


We have seen great results thanks to Donald from Barkbusters on our rescue, Hopper. Donald has been patient with us and Hopper as we work on his aggression, barking, and walking issues. From the first session where the entire process was thoroughly explained to the multiple follow up visits and emails Donald has been great to work with at every step. We were given a lot of useful information that has really made a difference in Hopper's behavior. We are very happy with Hopper's progress!
Timothy M., Lansdale, Pennsylvania 6th March 2016


Donald met with us for close to 3 hours on our first session. He listened to our concerns about our dog Zoe, a Snorkie. He then explained how the program works and he described how the corrections worked as well as the order of use. Within a few days we noticed a big change in Zoe . She was responding to our corrections, perhaps not 100% but often enough to know the training and corrections were working. Donald is extremely supportive, always available by phone or email. Although we anticipated a need for several visits, we quickly realized a few sessions along telephone contact Donald, was enough to handle several issues. We are very happy with the success we are having. Donald's support is the key to our progress. Barkbusters is a program anyone could use and find success.
Diane Z., King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 29th February 2016




Go to top